Three winners design challenge Give a Voice to the North Sea  

Friday 23 October 2020, the jury selected the three winners of the design challenge Give a Voice to the North Sea from NEMO’s De Studio.

The jury, chaired by Daan Roovers, lecturer in Philosophy and Philosopher Laureate of the Netherlands, consisted of the following members: Peter-Paul Verbeek (Professor of Philosophy of Technology, University of Twente), Antoon Vandevelde (Em Professor of Philosophy, KU Leuven), Louise Schouwenberg (Head of the Contextual Design Master’s, Design Academy Eindhoven) and Huub Dijstelbloem (Professor of Philosophy of Science and Politics, UvA)

Have a look at the recordings of the juryday here.


A Voice for the Eel: Daniel Garcia, What you humans call North. Find out more about this project here.

Underwater Noise: Jos Spijkerman, Marieke Druiven, Marina Sulima, Leah van Oorschot, Florida Visser, Hugo Heinen, Tjesse Riemersma and Jesse Havinga, Speaker for the Deaf. Find out more about this project here.

Future of the Delta: Maarten Meijer, Eileen Stornebrink, Willie Vogel, Dennis Hamer and Charlotte von Meijenfeldt, Oosterschelde Negotiations. Find our more about this project here.

Three wonderful and inspiring projects that speculate on how we can see non-humans as political actors.

The awarding of the Spinozalens to the French philosopher and sociologist Bruno Latour was the reason for the DesignLab / PhilosophyLab of the University of Twente, the Embassy of the North Sea and the International Spinozaprijs Foundation to organise this design challenge for students.

The final winner will be announced 6 November during the Philosophy of Human-Technology Relations conference of the DesignLab UTwente!

Read more about the design competition here.